Kailee is Engaged

Posted: May 28, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Kailee is engaged.

This doesn’t mean anything to those of you who do not know Kailee, but this is a huge event!

Alan proposed under the stars, which is virtually all I know. And considering she gleefully told Facebook about it, I’d assume she said yes.

Kailee Pichey is going to be Kailee Piaskowski. I really ought to ask her to pronounce that for me sometime.

Kailee, if you’d like to know, is the sister of my best friend, Ashley.

Since I didn’t talk about her much yesterday, I guess I can explain how we met and why we’re best friends.

Ashley Pichey was in my 3rd grade class with the first male teacher I had: Mr. Allegar. For the entire school year, he’d be known as Abraham Lincoln. In retrospect, the man didn’t look anything like Abe Lincoln except for that he was tall and bearded and in a suit. Ashley and I were weirdos. She was the first person in that class to really talk to me. She invited the entire class to her Halloween Party and the girls were all invited to spend the night at her house for her birthday party. She always suggested we play games and watch horror movies during slumber parties. She always wanted to tell scary stories and urban legends and we found that this was what tied us together so instantly. Girls that were 8 years old or 9 years old just didn’t want to watch “Poltergeist” or “Rocky Horror Picture Show” etc. They didn’t want to watch “Mystery Science Theater 3000” and summon spirits or pretend they were witches like in “Charmed.” Ashley and I did.

Ashley and I have been best friends since then. I proved myself fun enough when I wasn’t afraid to go in the “haunted” attic of her house when her other friends were dared to, I’d take their place or offer to go with and then we’d laugh at what scaredy-cats they were. I’ve been through tons with her. The horrible house-keeping job (which I promise to talk about some day) was basically handed to me because of her. She was a supervisor there and she got me the job. We took each other to work to save gas money and ended up getting even closer in the process. Once you experience the same HORRID working environment as someone, I think it makes your relationship more solid. Not that it wasn’t already, but if anything, that job made us closer.

She’d probably murder Martin if he ever ripped my heart out. She’s a protective best friend, but she doesn’t overstep any boundaries. When I was with Mark, she bit her tongue, hating the crap out of him, but was always nice. It was never that Mark had been a bad person. It was just that he sort of held me back from being myself. I wasn’t as fun when I was with him. And he took up 3 years of my life. And I think Ashley and I sort of drifted during my relationship with him. She couldn’t stand him, but being my best friend, she kept quiet about it. Even when he proposed, she smiled and hugged me and congratulated me. She knew me well enough to know that there’s no way in hell I could marry him and that I’d realize it. That if she SAID that I shouldn’t marry him we would’ve fought. I would’ve ignored her. And she knows my inability to take advice. She knows me well. We’re in each others mind-tanks and I imagine her reading this right now saying “OH MY GOD I LOVE YOU FOR USING ‘MIND-TANKS!'” Then she’ll make fun of me for being dumb and mentioning it.

She’s my right-hand man, really. The main thing I miss while in Australia? I’d say Ashley every time. I love my mother and father, don’t get me wrong. I miss them a bit. But ASHLEY? She’d be so useful when Martin and his friends gang up on me. She’d cut them. Pft. And if one of them got too nasty? She’d tell them off, and I’d grin and just watch. She’s just the greatest friend you could have. Really.

Now, Ashley’s 22 (23 come November… older than me by a couple of months, though to look at us you’d assume I’m older. Everyone does). Kailee is her younger sister. I want to say she’s 20, but I’m not actually positive. I was 20 and engaged, so this whole thing has sort of made me nervous for her. I’m happy, completely. I’ve met Alan… and if you knew Kailee? And you saw them together? You’d just understand instantly why they’re so good for one another. They are a great couple. I’m sure they’ll be happy, and I’ll be invited to the wedding, and I’ll wear a fucking awesome dress, and Ashley and I will time-warp all over their wedding reception.

No need to let me know that was a  ridiculously long run-on sentence. I’m aware. It’s how I talk when I’m excited. Those who know me are probably reading this in my voice and nodding. Because yep… that’s how I talk. It’s often difficult for me to shut up. It’s a horrible habit. But, ah well.

Nothing of much interest has happened in the past 24 hours. I spoke to my mother this morning on skype. Nothing fascinating is happening on her end either.

After the chat with my mother, Martin and I dragged our sleepy butts out to the store to buy groceries. Today was BIG shopping day. We needed food I could pop in the oven for dinner. We needed snacks. We FORGOT to buy a light bulb for his bedroom again. So it’ll be another 24 hours or so before I can see what I’m doing in there. We needed paper towels. All sorts of things.

We got what we needed, but in the beverage aisle, we saw a sign under the 24 packs of coke cans. “$15” We were extremely excited because normally it’s like $30 for 24 cans of coke. So of course, we grabbed it. At the counter it rang up as “$24.89.” We said “No, it was $15 on the sign back there.” I went to show the front-end lady and the sign was gone. I said “Oh, maybe it was on sale and today the sale changed? Could someone have switched it? There was definitely a sign here.” She laughed at me and said “There’s no way 24 cans of coke was EVER $15.” I could’ve murdered her, I was so irritated. The sign damn well DID say “$15” and it was DEFINITELY for Coke. I ALWAYS check signs like that. We bought it for $24.89 anyway, though.

I was kind of bitter about it, and wanted to steal the cart out of spite to get the heavy groceries home, but Martin wouldn’t let me.

It may sound strange, but things like that make me love him a bit more. He’d feel too guilty if we stole a grocery store cart. He’s really a good guy. (She said, then turned her head and saw him scrolling 4chan… and seeing some nasty crap on it.)

Anyway, that was all that really happened today. We came home and smoked a little. I ate too many things I shouldn’t have eaten. Then he went to bed, and I accidentally fell asleep with him until about 2:30, when I woke up and played Diablo III until about 45 minutes ago.

I wish I had something fascinating to write about. But today was another lazy day.

I was thinking about the Power House. I want to get some great pictures, but to do that, I have to go on a sunny morning… and I need to get Harley to wake up early enough, and I’d LIKE to have Martin go with, but the likelihood of that happening is slim. It’s just such a cool place, and since I was speaking of Ashley, I KNOW she’d love to see pictures of that place. Hell, I’m positive she’d love to explore it some day. If I do end up coming back here for a good long time to stay? And I bring her over? That’ll be the first place she and I go together. She’d just absolutely love it. It’s exactly the place she and I would hang out in if we had a place like that near us. We’d do everything there.

I need to make it a thing before I leave. I don’t have a lot of time left before my inevitable return home.

Ugh.

That’s depressing.

New Goal: Do NOT cry about having to leave until the 24 hours before I have to leave.

Starting now…

Because I cried about it before… because I’m lame

Anyway, Martin just came over to investigate what I was up to. He stared and said “This is like role reversal.” He’s right. This is HIS job. He’s meant to be writing while I crawl over and cuddle the crap out of him, trying to snoop. Then he gets irritated with me and swats at me.

I don’t get irritated as easily by the interruption in my writing. I also don’t mind him reading anything I have to say. Where he has a steel lockbox surrounding all the thoughts that run through his mind? I have a book laying open in the middle of a crowded room. I just don’t need privacy the way he does sometimes. I’ve never been private. I just don’t see a need, I guess. Meh.

Anyway, I’m off. My shoulder is killing me from sitting, hunched over the laptop.

Leave a Reply

